Home | Featured (page 3)

Featured

Using The Dynamic Memory Feature on Microsoft Hyper-V

Microsoft recently released service pack 1 (SP1) of Windows Server 2008 R2, which includes the Dynamic Memory option.  This new feature is meant to aid memory management across a Hyper-V host with multiple guests.  Previously the memory assigned to a guest was static and couldn’t be changed without a power off and reboot of that guest. I’ve upgraded The Storage ... Read More »

Infosmack Podcast #92 – From HDS Bloggers’ Day 2011

Last week I took part in a special Infosmack recording at the HDS Bloggers’ Day.  You can find a link to the recording here, via The Register; http://www.theregister.co.uk/2011/03/29/hds_storage_virtualisation_podcast/ Unfortunately we still didn’t have the Hu v Claus benchpress competiton, but hey…. In this picture are: Greg Knieriemen – @knieriemen Hu Yoshida Claus Mikklesen – @yoclaus Nigel Poulton – @nigelpoulton Devang ... Read More »

Hitachi Bloggers Day 2011 – Part I

As previously mentioned, last week I attended the second HDS/Hitachi Bloggers’ Day, this year located at Sefton Park in the UK.  Setting the event on this side of The Pond (rather than requiring me to take a 10,000 mile round-trip) was certainly a benefit and I welcomed the lack of jet lag!  I suspect of all the attendees I had ... Read More »

Predicting the Future of IT

I’ve been reading a book called “The Mighty Micro” by a namesake of mine, Dr Christopher Evans, a computer scientist from the 1970s, who sadly died at the age of only 48, not long after his book had been published. I’m currently into the chapter discussing middle-term futures, which in this case refers to the years 1983-1990.  It’s interesting to ... Read More »

HDS Bloggers Day 2011

This week I’ll be attending the 2nd HDS Bloggers Day, to be hosted in the UK.  Apart from myself, there will be the following attendees: Devang Panchigar – @storagenerve – www.storagenerve.com Greg Knieriemen – @knieriemen – www.iknerd.com Nigel Poulton – @nigelpoulton – www.nigelpoulton.com Jason Boche – @jasonboche – www.boche.net/blog/ Fabio Rapposelli – @fabiorapposelli – www.juku.it/en/ Enrico Signoretti – @esignoretti – www.cinetica.it/blog/ Ilja Coolen – @icoolen ... Read More »

Not Everything is Storage Related

Here’s a cautionary tale for those of us who are constantly enveloped in storage and computing in general. A while back I posted on Twitter how I was listening to the “click of death” from one of my home lab storage arrays.  I have 21 HDDs within 6 feet of my office desk and one of them appeared to be ... Read More »